Catharsis

I know that it seems like I’m repeating myself over and over, but the truth is that I’m using this as a place for my thoughts and fears that Gabe is sick of talking about. True!

MIL was great over Christmas, not too many judgy/invasive questions, and she didn’t try to touch my belly. My family is, of course, still my family. But at least I can tell them to eff off if I need to. Now that there are some minor shower plans starting mom has felt the need to remind me that I should and shouldn’t register for certain things.. for example she told me that I won’t need swaddling blankets, Noah didn’t like them so my LO probably won’t either. HOW DO YOU KNOW?!!? I’m just sick of feeling like she and my MIL don’t think we are capable of doing this on our own. I’m 10 years older than my mother was when she had her first child, and no I haven’t had a baby myself, but I’ve been around plenty of them. IDK. I don’t like when people tell me that I can’t do something, or treat me like I’m not capable. Gabe and I are smart people, I know that we will be fine. It’s bad enough that I have my own fears about being a parent- like what if she is a colicky baby and doesn’t sleep much the first 6 weeks. What if I am unable to nurse her, and I have to give her formula? These are the things I’m concerned with- not freaking blankets. I try to remind myself that these comments generally come from the person trying to be helpful, and its probably my pregnant emotions taking control but…. and I just have to get it out here-

THEY HAVE HAD AND RAISED THEIR BABIES – THIS IS MY TURN, LET ME DO IT! IF I NEED HELP I WILL ASK FOR IT, OTHERWISE STFU AND KEEP YOUR OPINIONS TO YOURSELF.

Remind me to say that several times over the course of her first 6 months.

4 responses to “Catharsis

  1. 🙂 it’s one thing to be helpful and ask thoughtful questions … on the milk vs. formula note – and this is just me sharing here but she will be just fine if you have to supplement or go completely with formula – I was formula fed and look how I turned out 😛 You guys will figure out things for yourselves just like every couple/Mom/Dad/parent guardian has done so for a bajillion years. It’s hard not to worry but just have faith everything will turn out just fine 🙂

    • While that is true… nursing is better as it imparts lots of good stuff (antibodies, etc) from me to her that you can’t get with formula. Ami and I were formula fed, and so was Noah so I see no problem with it. However, if I am able to that is my preference.

Leave a Reply

