Keep the Earth Below My Feet

When life becomes stressful and overwhelming I often find it difficult to stay grounded. Instead I find myself lost in constant thought and worry about the situations(s) and unable to focus on anything else. However, in these current times it helps that I have an outlet that I can so easily lose myself in. Today I spent over an hour picking leaves off the begonias at work.. because they are infected with a fungus thanks to all of this cool damp weather. It’s nice to have a job where even a task that seems mundane is enough to give me the time and space my head needs to work things out. This means that I can come home and it doesn’t follow me through the door and interfere with my relationship.

Keeping the soil beneath my feet is well accomplished by keeping it under my fingernails as well.

_DSC0138

 

We went to Burlington on Sunday and I took lots of pictures of the peonies that are in bloom. And I’m thrilled to report that we have one growing in front of the house! I’m excited to see what color it will be. My mom has some outstanding peonies at her house and even though they bloom for such a brief time compared to how long it takes for them to open, I might have to have several varieties. I have a lot of different varieties at work, and I’m looking forward to all of them opening as well.

It’s been too cold and rainy to do much in the garden lately, but our peppers and tomatoes are blooming heavily, the green beans are growing like gangbusters, the sunflowers are coming, and the carrots just emerged over the weekend.

2 responses to “Keep the Earth Below My Feet

  1. The peony pics on FB were lovely my dear! Congrats on your veggies πŸ™‚

    The act of sitting down and writing out a TO DO list with everything I need to do, mundane or otherwise, usually gets me back together.

    Side note – do you watch “Call The Midwife”? If not, I think it is on NetFlix. PBS winner!!!

  2. Thanks πŸ™‚ And no, I’ll have to look!!

Leave a Reply

