Learning to Stretch a Dollar

Make no mistake, Gabe and I each have roles in our house when it comes to money. He likes to say that HE is the saver and I am the spender..and you will get NO argument from me on that point. I like to shop, and he knew that about me long before we got married. That being said, I’m trying to make the effort to be more frugal. Working on it anyway.

So you already know all about my vegetable garden (see last post- Photo of the Day), well this week we also bought a BJ’s membership and a vacuum sealer. Like total nerds, we went to the grocery store with a notepad and wrote down how much we pay for certain staple items (rice, canned tomatoes, produce, etc.) and then compared them to the price at BJ’s. Now, you have to be prepared to fork over a bit more cash- but it should equal out to some savings. We bought: a big box of salad greens (we eat a lot of salad), chicken thighs, rice, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, cat food, tortilla chips, peanut butter, brown sugar, bread, english muffins, freezer bags, liquid hand soap, granola bars, quinoa… and a few other things. But we spent $170. So, like I said- you have to be prepared to drop some serious cash. On the other hand, those are the type of things that are staples in our house so hopefully we should see a difference in our grocery bill. Obviously this isn’t going to totally replace our weekly shopping, I will still have to venture to Hannaford on occasion (milk, eggs, produce, and whatnot).. so we’ll see where we end up. PLUS once our garden starts producing we will have to buy even less.

The thought of becoming more self sustaining can become addicting. I was just going along with it because Gabe was into it, but its not hard once you get into some type of routine, and we are always looking for ways to further it.

garden

 

Garden complete. Instead of plastic pots, this year we planted some of our tomatoes and peppers in bags- the same type you use as reusable grocery bags.

3 responses to “Learning to Stretch a Dollar

  1. I just started doing this too. I got a three dozen eggs for just over $2… and three weeks worth of meat and cheeses (mostly organic to boot) for $110. I used to spend that weekly at Whole Foods. I love my Costco membership.

    • You can freeze lunch meat? I’m not sure I would, since its the same price at BJ’s as at the grocery store. But I have herd that you can freeze eggs for a few months.

  2. Once we get settled we are going to look into a BJ’s membership to stock up on the same types of stuff you guys did. Also when thinking about how I want to decorate our new digs, will be using up all our gift cards etc and hitting Craigslist and local Salvation Army for DIYs 🙂 I think it’s good to constantly be thinking about where the $ is going and how to do it cheaper!

    Same answer here for our spending habits except flipped – I am totally the thriftier one; Ken is for sure the spender but has gotten A LOT better.

Leave a Reply

