Last Weekend Ramblings

I grew up as kind of a tumbleweed, until I was 11 anyway. My parents moved all over; when you’re working in a small industry that depends on disposable income for work you have to go where the work is. At this point in my life I have lived in Connecticut, Alabama, Iowa, Massachusetts, Virginia, currently NY and in a week- Vermont. This also includes 10 houses with my parents, a dorm, and three apartments with Gabe. Moving is not something that I am new to.

I feel like every move is two-fold, I end up leaving something behind. When I moved back to NY after my first year in college I left behind two boxes of miscellaneous stuff. A few scarves, a winter coat, some furniture- odds and ends that didn’t need to come home with me. Of course then I didn’t go back to Virginia. I think we also gain something too, not always objects but a new sense of who we are and where we are going with our lives. Gabe and I are hoping this will be our last residence until we can buy a house and some property. We are anxious to begin that part of our lives, and it is drawing nearer.

Gabe and I have done a lot of growing up since we got married, and I’m sure that’s a common occurrence  Your life is no longer your own, but becomes more deeply entwined with that of another. This makes big decisions both easier and more difficult at the same time.

It’s going to be an adventure, that’s for sure.

 

n502632509_42571_3268

Leave a Reply

