Road Trip(s)!!

I’m off to Massachusetts tomorrow (was supposed to be Friday, but there is a HUGE snow storm coming. Maybe.) for my friend’s bridal shower, and Vermont next weekend.. because Gabe wants beer, and I wanted to go away for a weekend.

DSC_0267

 

This weekend is sure to be a whirlwind, between the setting up and the party itself- and of course the beverages. I’m planning to stop before getting on the highway tomorrow and pick up some NY wines to bring with me for the weekend. Also, because of the weather I’ve had to rework plans I made with other friends. I don’t get to Mass often, so I’d like to see who I can while I’m there.

Next weekend though! We’re starting in Woodstock and working our way around the state. We have a stop planned at Long Trail (my absolute favorite Vermont brewery) to taste their new brown ale, Gabe wants to visit the Alchemist to pick up some Heady Topper. It’s a high gravity double IPA that is super hoppy- and is currently only available for purchase from the brewery and select Vt. packies. We’ve also been meaning to stop in at a brewery in Stowe, but last time we were up there it was closed for renovations. We picked up new “Brewery Passports” this summer on our way home from the cabin, and there are a few new breweries on the list that we’d also like to check out.

AND OF COURSE CABOT! A trip to Vermont is not complete without a trip to Cabot Creamery. We will likely go to the Annex in Waterbury instead of the factory, but I don’t care. Free cheese either way! We will not, however, be stopping at Ben & Jerry’s. That is a Vt. touristy thing we only did once. So not worth it.

We’re spending two nights in Barre, a pretty central spot for our weekend plans. We got lucky and were able to get a nice room at a good price, even though it is Valentine’s Day weekend. I’m sure we will also do a bit of antique shopping (or browsing) and stop in at Cold Hollow Cider Mill for a hot apple cider donut, and some fresh pressed cider!

I’m looking forward to spending this weekend with some close girlfriends, and the next with my best guy!

Leave a Reply

