Yoga, Tabata and Carbs.

Mother Nature brought winter back today. It’s snowing outside, and I’m glad I did my errands this morning before it got worse. By 9 it was already starting to come down so I abandoned my walk and replaced my cardio with this– one of those quick workouts that is supposed to get your heart rate up and kick everything else into gear for the day. There are all kinds of links to these workouts on Pinterest. They are based on a Japanese style called “Tabata”. In this type of exercise you do one type of exercise (jumping jacks, high knees, mountain climbers, etc.) for 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds and do another. The point is that you go all out in those 20 seconds and feel like you are going to die at the end. I did, but I’m not in tip-top athletic shape. The girl in the video is winded at the end and she says that she runs regularly. Also, they say that this will keep your heart rate and metabolism up for the next 24 hours or so. If my current feeling (like I drank a large coffee with extra sugar and a turbo shot) is any indication this might be true. I also did yoga and of course today’s episode instead of being a nice, gentle stretch- made me sweat too.  The weather is not supposed to improve until Thursday so I think I’ll keep doing it and see how I feel. I’ll let you know. 🙂

photo (14)

 

This is the main road I travel on my way home from the grocery store. (Which, on a side note, never has everything that I need. I miss Wegman’s.) Welcome to NYS where we don’t plow until there is more than 2 inches of snow on the ground. I saw 3 wrecked cars today.

Asides aside; I did something I haven’t done in a while today and planned a menu before going shopping! This should eliminate the daily “What do you want for dinner?” “I don’t know, what do you want?” conversation, that sometimes leads to a fight. Nothing fancy, chicken, pasta, veggies. The usual grouping of ingredients. Cooking Light has a good database of recipes with the basic, everyday ingredients that everyone has- and they list the nutrition facts for them. This is great if you, like me, love pasta but don’t need to eat all of those carbs/calories. They have some great low-calorie pasta recipes- and the carb count isn’t too bad either. I have made it a point before to say that in my attempt to lose weight that I’m focusing more on choices than calories and carbs, but there has to be some component of paying attention to my daily intake.

Alright, I have housework to do! I am totally going to be bummed when I have to go back to work.

3 responses to “Yoga, Tabata and Carbs.

  1. Sig-O and I are religious in our menu planning! Helps us not overspend at the store for the most part, and keeps us in check, aka not eating meat everyday, planning for leftovers etc.

    I have heard about this tabata stuff, I will be looking into it for sure 🙂 I love quick little workouts, feel like ya did something but didn’t waste a whole hour on a treadmill or doing ridiculous things.

    No plowing here either, they just were salting as I pulled in from class. Boo!

Leave a Reply

