Resolution Check-In.

Review: My resolutions were to lose weight and make a more daily effort to make Gabe happy.

I’m not sure what is different this time around, I feel like I’m always saying- “Oh I’m going to go on a diet and lose some of this weight.” Then I’ll have a day where I look in the mirror and think that I look great and don’t need to make any changes. This time though, I think I have just made a mental note to alter the way I look at and use food. I have always been and emotional eater (and shopper) but I have had to make myself think differently about it. Especially with all of the family nonsense going on right now, I could be knee deep in cookies and junk food. Instead I have surrounded myself with fruits and veggies. So, big picture- I needed to change my lifestyle, not just what I’m eating. Along with eating better I have been alternating a daily brisk walk (at about 4 miles per hour according to my new app) and yoga. Today I did both.  And I’m happy to report that I’m down about 5 pounds!

_DSC0043

Gabe and I have come a long way since 2006. This year we celebrate being together for 7 years, married for 2. He makes me crazy on a regular basis, but I can’t think of anyone else I’d rather have around me. In keeping with my resolution I’ve been trying to be helpful, and more aware when I’m lashing out at him because I’m upset about something else. We’re down to 5 chapters left in the Hobbit, and I think he will be bummed when we finish. Our next literary adventure is the Chronicles of Narnia.

Thinking about the time we have been together, and reflecting on our marriage makes me more aware of how we have grown together as a couple and individuals. When we met we were both floating along at a community college, not really focused on anything other than the weekend. I think that over time we have pushed each other to succeed- we both offered encouraging words to the other when it felt like school was never ending. It has continued into our search for careers, he pushed me to contact the company I now work for, and I supported his decision to move us to the Hudson Valley.

I feel that couples who succeed are:

-couples who learn together. Gabe and I own an extensive library and in the summer many of those books go on hikes with us. We have spent a lot of time learning about plants together.

-couples who cook together. One of our favorite past times is hanging out in the kitchen cooking and drinking good beer. (At present we are working our way through our latest batch of beer, an IPA.)

-couples who understand a fight is not the end of the world. I grew up with parents who fought, and Gabe didn’t. And if they did fight, he was never aware of it. We, like all couples, do fight. But as we have grown together we have learned HOW to fight and how to do it constructively. That means I don’t always yell anymore.

-couples who don’t do every little thing together. I enjoy spending time by myself, and so does Gabe. We don’t always go everywhere with the other and on weekends we don’t spend every minute together. Absence makes the heart grow fonder 🙂

-and couples who try to make each other happy. I read a book that said if your daily goal is to make your spouse happy and vice-versa than you should both be happy! I know, this cannot be accomplished EVERY day but most days its possible. Take a few minutes and reflect on what makes the other person happy; is it a back scratch, letting them pick what you watch after dinner or simply giving them 15 minutes to unwind after work? Gabe likes when I scratch him.

What do you think I missed?

5 responses to “Resolution Check-In.

  1. Wonderful aspirations. I enjoy the nordic walking myself. May you be well.

  2. I love this post! Sig-O and I have our fair share of fights and we had a big blowout last night but it isn’t the end of the world and it is very functional to fight. Agreeing all the time is VERY unhealthy.

    I don’t think you missed a thing 🙂

  3. The doing things alone thing is something I struggled with a lot. My husband values his alone time, but I never enjoyed my own company. After being with him for five years though, I’ve discovered that alone time is fabulous.

    Congrats on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

